跳到主要内容
Version: v0.1.9

分布式训练

作者: Shenggui Li, Siqi Mai

什么是分布式系统?

图片来源: Towards Data Science

分布式系统由多个软件组件组成,在多台机器上运行。例如,传统的数据库运行在一台机器上。随着数据量的爆发式增长,单台机器已经不能为企业提供理想的性能。特别是在双十一这样的网络狂欢节,网络流量会出乎意料的大。为了应对这种压力,现代高性能数据库被设计成在多台机器上运行,它们共同为用户提供高吞吐量和低延迟。

分布式系统的一个重要评价指标是可扩展性。例如,当我们在4台机器上运行一个应用程序时,我们自然希望该应用程序的运行速度能提高4倍。然而,由于通信开销和硬件性能的差异,很难实现线性提速。因此,当我们实现应用程序时,必须考虑如何使其更快。良好的设计和系统优化的算法可以帮助我们提供良好的性能。有时,甚至有可能实现线性和超线性提速。

为什么我们需要机器学习的分布式训练?

早在2012年,AlexNet 就赢得了ImageNet比赛的冠军,而它是在两张 GTX 580 3GB GPU 上训练的。今天,大多数出现在顶级人工智能会议上的模型都是在多个GPU上训练的。当研究人员和工程师开发人工智能模型时,分布式训练无疑是一种常见的做法。这一趋势背后有几个原因。

  1. 模型规模迅速增加。2015年的 ResNet50 有2000万的参数, 2018年的 BERT-Large有3.45亿的参数,2018年的 GPT-2 有15亿的参数,而2020年的 GPT-3 有1750亿个参数。很明显,模型规模随着时间的推移呈指数级增长。目前最大的模型已经超过了1000多亿个参数。而与较小的模型相比,超大型模型通常能提供更优越的性能。
    图片来源: HuggingFace
  1. 数据集规模迅速增加。对于大多数机器学习开发者来说,MNIST 和 CIFAR10 数据集往往是他们训练模型的前几个数据集。然而,与著名的 ImageNet 数据集相比,这些数据集非常小。谷歌甚至有自己的(未公布的)JFT-300M 数据集,它有大约3亿张图片,这比 ImageNet-1k 数据集大了近300倍。
  1. 计算能力越来越强。随着半导体行业的进步,显卡变得越来越强大。由于核的数量增多,GPU是深度学习最常见的算力资源。从2012年的 K10 GPU 到2020年的 A100 GPU,计算能力已经增加了几百倍。这使我们能够更快地执行计算密集型任务,而深度学习正是这样一项任务。

如今,我们接触到的模型可能太大,以致于无法装入一个GPU,而数据集也可能大到足以在一个GPU上训练一百天。这时,只有用不同的并行化技术在多个GPU上训练我们的模型,我们才能完成并加快模型训练,以追求在合理的时间内获得想要的结果。

分布式训练的基本概念

分布式训练需要多台机器/GPU。在训练期间,这些设备之间会有通信。为了更好地理解分布式训练,有几个重要的术语需要我们了解清楚。

  • host: 主机(host)是通信网络中的主要设备。在初始化分布式环境时,经常需要它作为一个参数。
  • port: 这里的端口(port)主要是指主机上用于通信的主端口。
  • rank: 在网络中赋予设备的唯一ID。
  • world size: 网络中设备的数量。
  • process group: 进程组(process group)是一个通信网络,包括设备的一个子集。总是有一个默认的进程组,它包含所有的设备。一个子集的设备可以形成一个进程组,以便它们只在组内的设备之间进行通信。
一个分布式系统的例子

为了说明这些概念,让我们假设我们有2台机器(也称为节点),每台机器有4个 GPU。当我们在这两台机器上初始化分布式环境时,我们基本上启动了8个进程(每台机器上有4个进程),每个进程被绑定到一个 GPU 上。

在初始化分布式环境之前,我们需要指定主机(主地址)和端口(主端口)。在这个例子中,我们可以让主机为节点0,端口为一个数字,如29500。所有的8个进程将寻找地址和端口并相互连接,默认的进程组将被创建。默认进程组的 world size 为8,细节如下。

process IDrankNode indexGPU index
0000
1101
2202
3303
4410
5511
6612
7713

我们还可以创建一个新的进程组。这个新的进程组可以包含任何进程的子集。例如,我们可以创建一个只包含偶数进程的组:

process IDrankNode indexGPU index
0000
2102
4210
6312

请注意,rank 是相对于进程组而言的,一个进程在不同的进程组中可以有不同的 rank。最大的 rank 始终是 world size of the process group - 1

在进程组中,各进程可以通过两种方式进行通信。

  1. peer-to-peer: 一个进程向另一个进程发送数据。
  2. collective: 一组进程一起执行分散、聚集、all-reduce、广播等操作。
Collective communication, 来源: PyTorch distributed tutorial

Skip to main content
Version: v0.1.9

Distributed Training

Author: Shenggui Li, Siqi Mai

What is a distributed system?​

Image source: Towards Data Science

A distributed system consists of multiple software components which run on multiple machines. For example, the traditional database runs on a single machine. As the amount of data gets incredibly large, a single machine can no longer deliver desirable performance to the business, especially in situations such as Black Friday where network traffic can be unexpectedly high. To handle such pressure, modern high-performance database is designed to run on multiple machines, and they work together to provide high throughput and low latency to the user.

One important evaluation metric for distributed system is scalability. For example, when we run an application on 4 machines, we naturally expect that the application can run 4 times faster. However, due to communication overhead and difference in hardware performance, it is difficult to achieve linear speedup. Thus, it is important to consider how to make the application faster when we implement it. Algorithms of good design and system optimization can help to deliver good performance. Sometimes, it is even possible to achieve linear and super-linear speedup.

Why we need distributed training for machine learning?​

Back in 2012, AlexNet won the champion of the ImageNet competition, and it was trained on two GTX 580 3GB GPUs. Today, most models that appear in the top AI conferences are trained on multiple GPUs. Distributed training is definitely a common practice when researchers and engineers develop AI models. There are several reasons behind this trend.

  1. Model size increases rapidly. ResNet50 has 20 million parameters in 2015, BERT-Large has 345 million parameters in 2018, GPT-2 has 1.5 billion parameters in 2018, and GPT-3 has 175 billion parameters in 2020. It is obvious that the model size grows exponentially with time. The current largest model has exceeded more than 1000 billion parameters. Super large models generally deliver more superior performance compared to their smaller counterparts.
    Image source: HuggingFace
  1. Dataset size increases rapidly. For most machine learning developers, MNIST and CIFAR10 datasets are often the first few datasets on which they train their models. However, these datasets are very small compared to well-known ImageNet datasets. Google even has its own (unpublished) JFT-300M dataset which has around 300 million images, and this is close to 300 times larger than the ImageNet-1k dataset.
  1. Computing power gets stronger. With the advancement in the semiconductor industry, graphics cards become more and more powerful. Due to its larger number of cores, GPU is the most common compute platform for deep learning. From K10 GPU in 2012 to A100 GPU in 2020, the computing power has increased several hundred times. This allows us to performance compute-intensive tasks faster and deep learning is exactly such a task.

Nowadays, the model can be too large to fit into a single GPU, and the dataset can be large enough to train for a hundred days on a single GPU. Only by training our models on multiple GPUs with different parallelization techniques, we are able to speed up the training process and obtain results in a reasonable amount of time.

Basic Concepts in Distributed Training​

Distributed training requires multiple machines/GPUs. During training, there will be communication among these devices. To understand distributed training better, there are several important terms to be made clear.

  • host: host is the main device in the communication network. It is often required as an argument when initializing the distributed environment.
  • port: port here mainly refers to master port on the host for communication.
  • rank: the unique ID given to a device in the network.
  • world size: the number of devices in the network.
  • process group: a process group is a communication network which include a subset of the devices. There is always a default process group which contains all the devices. A subset devices can form a process group so that they only communicate among the devices within the group.
A distributed system example

To illustrate these concepts, let's assume we have 2 machines (also called nodes), and each machine has 4 GPUs. When we initialize distributed environment over these two machines, we essentially launch 8 processes (4 processes on each machine) and each process is bound to a GPU.

Before initializing the distributed environment, we need to specify the host (master address) and port (master port). In this example, we can let host be node 0 and port be a number such as 29500. All the 8 processes will then look for the address and port and connect to one another. The default process group will then be created. The default process group has a world size of 8 and details are as follows:

process IDrankNode indexGPU index
0000
1101
2202
3303
4410
5511
6612
7713

We can also create a new process group. This new process group can contain any subset of the processes. For example, we can create one containing only even-number processes, and the details of this new group will be:

process IDrankNode indexGPU index
0000
2102
4210
6312

Please note that rank is relative to the process group and one process can have a different rank in different process groups. The max rank is always world size of the process group - 1.

In the process group, the processes can communicate in two ways:

  1. peer-to-peer: one process send data to another process
  2. collective: a group of process perform operations such as scatter, gather, all-reduce, broadcast together.
Collective communication, source: PyTorch distributed tutorial