跳到主要内容
Version: v0.1.9

ColoTensor基础

Author: Jiarui Fang, Hongxin Liu and Haichen Huang

Prerequisite:

Introduction

在ColossalAI 0.1.8 版本之后,ColoTensor 成为 ColossalAI 中张量的基本数据结构。 它是 torch.Tensor 的子类,可以当做 PyTorch Tensor使用。 此外,一些独特的功能使其能够表示一个payload分布在多个 GPU 设备上的Global Tensor,并提供一些列方式操作这个Global Tensor。 在 ColoTensor 的帮助下,用户可以以类似编写串行程序方式,编写的分布式 DNN 训练程序。

ColoTensor 包含额外的属性ColoTensorSpec 来描述张量的payload分布和计算模式。

  • ProcessGroup:如何将进程组织为通信组。
  • Distributed Spec:张量如何在进程组之间分布。
  • Compute Spec:计算过程中如何使用张量。

我们一一详述。

ProcessGroup

ProcessGroup 类的一个实例描述了如何在进程组中组织进程。进程组内的进程可以一起参与同一个集合通信,比如allgather, allreduce等。进程组组织方式被张量的并行策略支配。比如,如果用户定义了Tensor的张量并行(TP),数据并行(DP)方式,那么进程组的进程组织方式将被自动推导出来。 进程组设置可能因不同的张量而异。 因此,它使我们能够支持更复杂的混合并行。流水线并行(PP)定义不在ProcessGroup中描述,它需要另一套机制,我们将在未来补充ColoTensor应用于PP的相关内容。

目前,ColoTensor 的一个进程组由 tp_degree 和 dp_degree 两种配置定义。 在 DP+TP 混合并行的情况下,可以将设备视为 2D 网格。 我们将 TP 通信组放置在设备网格的前导低维上,然后将数据并行组放置在设备网格的高维上。 原因是张量并行比数据并行具有更大的通信开销。 相邻设备放置在一个 TP 进程组内,并且通常放置在同一个节点中。

考虑到8个进程配置为tp_degree=4,dp_degree=2,布局如下图。 进程组 tp0 包含 gpu 0,1,2,3。 进程 dp1 包含 gpu 1 和 5。

Process Group using tp_degree=4, dp_degree=2

Distributed Spec

Distributed Spec描述了 ColoTensor 如何在 ProcessGroup 中分布。

张量在 DP 进程组之间的分布方式是自动导出的,不需要用户手动指定。 如果这个张量是一个模型参数,它会在 DP 进程组中被复制。 如果是activation张量,则沿tensor最高维度在DP进程组中进行平均分割。

因此,在使用 Distributed Spec 时,我们只需要描述张量在 TP 进程组之间的分布方式即可。 TP 进程组目前有两种分布式规范,即 ShardSpecReplicaSpec。 ShardSpec 需要指定分区的维度索引 dim 和分区个数 num_partitions。 目前,我们仅支持在单个dim上进行拆分。 TP进程组上不同的dist spec可以通过set_dist_spec()接口相互转换。这些转化操作可以被记录在PyTorch的自动求导机制中,并在反向传播时候触发对应的反向操作。

Compute Spec

ComputeSpec类描述Tensor如何参与计算。目前,我们将作为module parameter的ColoTensor设置正确的Compute Pattern。可以触发正取的计算模式。具体应用方式我们会在这篇文档中展示。

ColoParameter

ColoParameter是ColoTensor的子类。用来声明Parameter。他和ColoTensor关系和Torch.Tensor和torch.Parameter一致。后者可以让tensor出现在module的parameters()和name_parameters() 的返回值中。

Example

让我们看一个例子。 使用 tp_degree=2, dp_dgree=2 在 4 个 GPU 上初始化并Shard一个ColoTensor。 然后tensor被沿着 TP 进程组中的最后一个维度进行分片。 最后,我们沿着 TP 进程组中的第一个维度(dim 0)对其进行重新Shard。 我们鼓励用户运行代码并观察每个张量的形状。

import torch
import torch.multiprocessing as mp
from colossalai.utils import free_port, print_rank_0
from functools import partial

import colossalai
from colossalai.tensor import ProcessGroup, ColoTensor, ColoTensorSpec, ShardSpec, ComputeSpec, ComputePattern
from colossalai.utils import free_port

import torch

def run_dist_tests(rank, world_size, port):
colossalai.launch(config={}, rank=rank, world_size=world_size, host='localhost', port=port, backend='nccl')
pg = ProcessGroup(tp_degree=2, dp_degree=2)

torch.manual_seed(0)
local_tensor = torch.randn(2, 3, 1).cuda()
print_rank_0(f"shape {local_tensor.shape}, {local_tensor.data}")

spec = ColoTensorSpec(pg, ShardSpec(dims=[-1], num_partitions=[pg.tp_world_size()]), ComputeSpec(ComputePattern.TP1D))
t1 = ColoTensor.from_torch_tensor(local_tensor, spec)
t1 = t1.to_replicate()
print_rank_0(f"shape {t1.shape}, {t1.data}")

spec2 = ShardSpec([0], [pg.tp_world_size()])
t1.set_dist_spec(spec2)
print_rank_0(f"shape {t1.shape}, {t1.data}")

def test_dist_cases(world_size):
run_func = partial(run_dist_tests, world_size=world_size, port=free_port())
mp.spawn(run_func, nprocs=world_size)

if __name__ == '__main__':
test_dist_cases(4)
⚠️caution

The ColoTensor is an experimental feature and may be updated.

Skip to main content
Version: v0.1.9

ColoTensor Concepts

Author: Jiarui Fang, Hongxin Liu and Haichen Huang

Prerequisite:

Introduction​

After ColossalAI version 0.1.8, ColoTensor becomes the basic data structure for tensors in ColossalAI. It is a subclass of torch.Tensor and can be used as a PyTorch Tensor. Additionally, some unique features make it possible to represent a Global Tensor with a payload distributed across multiple GPU devices. With the help of ColoTensor, the users can write distributed DNN training program similar to a serial one.support the following features.

ColoTensor contains extra attributes capsuled in a ColoTensorSpec instance to describe the tensor's payload distribution and computing pattern.

  • ProcessGroup: how processes are organized as communication groups.
  • Distributed Spec: how tensor is distributed among process groups.
  • Compute Spec: how the tensor is used during computation.

We elaborate on them one by one.

ProcessGroup​

An instance of class ProcessGroup describes how processes are organized in process groups. Processes in a process group can participate in the same collective communication operations together, such as allgather, allreduce, etc. The way the process group is organized is dominated by the Tensor's parallelism strategy. For example, if the user defines the tensor parallel (TP) and data parallel (DP) modes of a tensor, then the process organization of the process group will be automatically deduced. The process group settings can vary among different tensors. Therefore, it enables us to support more complicated hybrid parallel. The pipeline parallel (PP) definition is not in the ProcessGroup, it needs another set of mechanisms . We will supplement the related content of ColoTensor applied to PP in the future.

Currently, a process group of ColoTensor is defined by two configurations, i.e. tp_degree and dp_degree. In the case of DP+TP hybrid parallelism, the device can be viewed as a 2D mesh. We place TP communication groups on the leading low dimension of the device mesh and then place the data parallel groups along the high dimension of the device mesh. The reason is that tensor parallelism has a larger communication overhead than data parallelism. Neighboring devices are placed inside a TP process group and are often placed in the same node.

Considering that 8 processes are configured as tp_degree=4, and dp_degree=2, the layout is shown below. Process group tp0 contains gpu 0,1,2,3. Process dp1 contains gpu 1 and 5. The degree of TP and DP means how many process are in a process group.

Process Group using tp_degree=4, dp_degree=2

Distributed Spec​

An instance of Distributed Spec describes how a ColoTensor is distributed among the ProcessGroup.

How tensors are distributed among DP process groups is automatically derived and does not need to be manually specified by the user. If this tensor is a model parameter, it is replicated within the DP process group. If it is an activation tensor, it is split along the process with the highest dimension and evenly distributed the tensor payload among processes in the DP process group.

Therefore, when using Distributed Spec, we only need to describe the way that the tensor is distributed among TP process groups. There are currently two ways to distribute among TP process group, i.e. ShardSpec and ReplicaSpec. ShardSpec needs to specify the dimension index dim of the partition and the number of partitions num_partitions. Currently, we only support the split on a single dim. Different dist specs on the TP process groups can be converted to each other through the set_dist_spec() interface. The spec conversions are recorded by the autograd mechanism and it will trigger corresponding reverse operations during backward propagation.

Compute Spec​

An instance of class ComputeSpec describes how a Coloensor be used in DNN training. Currently, we will set the correct Compute Pattern for the ColoTensor as the parameters of the module. The specific application scenarios will be shown in this document.

ColoParameter​

ColoParameter is a subclass of ColoTensor. Used to define a Global Parameter tensor. Its relationship with ColoTensor is consistent with Torch.Tensor and torch.Parameter. The latter allows the tensor to appear in the return values of the module's parameters() and name_parameters() methods.

Example​

Let's see an example. A ColoTensor is initialized and sharded on 8 GPUs using tp_degree=2, dp_dgree=2. And then the tensor is sharded along the last dim among the TP process groups. Finally, we reshard it along the first dim (0 dim) among the TP process groups. We encourage users to run the code and observe the shape of each tensor.

import torch
import torch.multiprocessing as mp
from colossalai.utils import free_port, print_rank_0
from functools import partial

import colossalai
from colossalai.tensor import ProcessGroup, ColoTensor, ColoTensorSpec, ShardSpec, ComputeSpec, ComputePattern
from colossalai.utils import free_port

import torch

def run_dist_tests(rank, world_size, port):
colossalai.launch(config={}, rank=rank, world_size=world_size, host='localhost', port=port, backend='nccl')
pg = ProcessGroup(tp_degree=2, dp_degree=2)

torch.manual_seed(0)
local_tensor = torch.randn(2, 3, 1).cuda()
print_rank_0(f"shape {local_tensor.shape}, {local_tensor.data}")

spec = ColoTensorSpec(pg, ShardSpec(dims=[-1], num_partitions=[pg.tp_world_size()]), ComputeSpec(ComputePattern.TP1D))
t1 = ColoTensor.from_torch_tensor(local_tensor, spec)
t1 = t1.to_replicate()
print_rank_0(f"shape {t1.shape}, {t1.data}")

spec2 = ShardSpec([0], [pg.tp_world_size()])
t1.set_dist_spec(spec2)
print_rank_0(f"shape {t1.shape}, {t1.data}")

def test_dist_cases(world_size):
run_func = partial(run_dist_tests, world_size=world_size, port=free_port())
mp.spawn(run_func, nprocs=world_size)

if __name__ == '__main__':
test_dist_cases(4)
⚠ī¸caution

The ColoTensor is an experimental feature and may be updated.